Skip to main content Start of content

ENVI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 157
Wednesday, May 15, 2019, 3:35 p.m. to 5:24 p.m.
John Aldag, Chair (Liberal)

• Ziad Aboultaif for Hon. Ed Fast (Conservative)
• Francis Drouin for Darren Fisher (Liberal)
• Randy Hoback for Hon. Mike Lake (Conservative)
• Gordie Hogg for Joe Peschisolido (Liberal)
Library of Parliament
• Alexandre Lavoie, Analyst
• Alison Clegg, Analyst
Department of the Environment
• Niall O'Dea, Associate Assistant Deputy Minister, Canadian Wildlife Service
• Mark Cauchi, Director General, Protected Areas
Parks Canada
• Michael Nadler, Acting Chief Executive Officer
• David Murray, Advisor, New Northern Protected Areas, Protected Areas Establishment
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the Committee proceeded to a briefing on Protected Areas and Conservation Finance in Canada.

Niall O'Dea and Michael Nadler made statements and, with Mark Cauchi, answered questions.

At 4:55 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:00 p.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

It was agreed, — That in relation to the Committee's study of disaster mitigation and insurance, members submit suggested witnesses to the Clerk by no later than 4:00 p.m. on Friday, May 17, 2019.

At 5:24 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Thomas Bigelow
Clerk of the Committee