Skip to main content
Start of content

ENVI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 103
Tuesday, April 17, 2018, 11:02 a.m. to 1:48 p.m.
Deborah Schulte, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Alison Clegg, Analyst
• Alexandre Lavoie, Analyst
• Sarah Yakobowski, Analyst
Assembly of First Nations
• Kluane Adamek, Interim Regional Chief, Yukon Region
• Sara Mainville, Legal Counsel
• Graeme Reed, Senior Policy Analyst
Fort McKay First Nation
• Chief Jim Boucher
• Alvaro Pinto, Executive Director, Sustainability Department
• Tarlan Razzaghi, Legal counsel
Indigenous Advisory and Monitoring Committee for the Trans Mountain Pipelines and Marine Shipping
• Chief Ernie Crey, Indigenous Co-Chair
• Tim Dickson, Legal Counsel, Indigenous Caucus
Smart Prosperity Institute
• Stewart Elgie, Executive Chair
Suncor Energy Inc.
• Virginia Flood, Vice-President, Government Relations
British Columbia Assembly of First Nations
• Terry Teegee, Regional Chief
Canadian Parks and Wilderness Society
• Alison Ronson, National Director, Parks Program
As an individual
• Martin Olszynski, Assistant Professor, Faculty of Law, University of Calgary
Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Monday, March 19, 2018, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-69, An Act to enact the Impact Assessment Act and the Canadian Energy Regulator Act, to amend the Navigation Protection Act and to make consequential amendments to other Acts.

Martin Olszynski, Alison Ronson, Stewart Elgie, and Virginia Flood made statements and answered questions.

At 12:19 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:22 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Kluane Adamek, by videoconference from Whitehorse, Yukon, Terry Teegee, by videoconfenrence from Prince George, British Columbia, Chief Jim Boucher and Chief Ernie Crey made statements and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.

At 1:48 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Thomas Bigelow
Clerk of the Committee