Skip to main content
Start of content

ENVI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 101
Wednesday, March 28, 2018, 3:59 p.m. to 6:53 p.m.
Deborah Schulte, Chair (Liberal)

• Kelly Block (Conservative)
• Sean Fraser (Liberal)
• Stephanie Kusie (Conservative)
• James Maloney (Liberal)
• Elizabeth May (Green Party)
Library of Parliament
• Alexandre Lavoie, Analyst
• Sarah Yakobowski, Analyst
• Hon. Marc Garneau, P.C., M.P., Minister of Transport
Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers
• Terry Abel, Executive Vice-President
• Paul Barnes, Director, Atlantic Canada and Arctic
• Patrick McDonald, Director, Climate and Innovation
Canadian Energy Pipeline Association
• Chris J. Bloomer, President and Chief Executive Officer
Department of Transport
• Michael Keenan, Deputy Minister
• Martha Green, Senior Counsel, Legal Services
• Nancy Harris, Executive Director, Regulatory Stewardship and Aboriginal Affairs
Canadian Hydropower Association
• Geneviève Martin, Regulatory Chair
• Eduard Wojczynski, President
• Pierre Lundahl, Chief Consultant
Prospectors and Developers Association of Canada
• Lisa McDonald, Interim Executive Director
• Lesley Williams, Director, Policy and Programs
Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Monday, March 19, 2018, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-69, An Act to enact the Impact Assessment Act and the Canadian Energy Regulator Act, to amend the Navigation Protection Act and to make consequential amendments to other Acts.

The Minister made a statement and answered questions.

At 4:37 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:42 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Terry Abel, Chris Bloomer and Lisa McDonald made statements.

At 5:15 p.m., by unanimous consent and pursuant to Standing Order 115(5), it was agreed that the Committee continue to sit.

Eduard Wojczynski made a statement and, with Terry Abel, Paul Barnes, Patrick McDonald, Chris Bloomer, Geneviève Martin, Pierre Lundahl, Lisa McDonald and Lesley Williams, answered questions.

At 5:38 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 6:20 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Questioning of Eduard Wojczynski,Terry Abel, Paul Barnes, Patrick McDonald, Chris Bloomer, Geneviève Martin, Pierre Lundahl, Lisa McDonald and Lesley Williams resumed.

At 6:53 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Thomas Bigelow
Clerk of the Committee