Skip to main content Start of content

CIMM Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 158
Tuesday, May 7, 2019, 3:30 p.m. to 7:30 p.m.
Nick Whalen, Acting Chair (Liberal)

House of Commons
• Angela Crandall, Procedural Clerk
Library of Parliament
• Julie Béchard, Analyst
• Madalina Chesoi, Analyst
• Hon. Bill Blair, P.C., M.P., Minister of Border Security and Organized Crime Reduction
Canada Border Services Agency
• John Ossowski, President
• Jennifer Lutfallah, Director General, Enforcement and Intelligence Programs
Department of Citizenship and Immigration
• Lori MacDonald, Acting Deputy Minister
• Paul MacKinnon, Assistant Deputy Minister, Strategic and Program Policy
• André Baril, Senior Director, Refugee Affairs
• Louis Dumas, Director General, Transformation Office
As an individual
• Christian Leuprecht, Professor, Department of Political Science, Royal Military College of Canada
Canadian Yazidi Association
• Nafiya Naso, Spokesperson
Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees
• Jean-Nicolas Beuze, Representative in Canada
Amnesty International Canada
• Justin Mohammed, Human Rights Law and Policy Campaigner
• Marilynn Rubayika, Public Interest Articling Fellow
Canadian Association of Refugee Lawyers
• Lobat Sadrehashemi, President and Laywer
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Monday, April 29, 2019, the Committee commenced its study of the subject matter of clauses 301 to 310 (Part 4, Division 16) (Immigration and Refugee Protection Act) of Bill C-97, An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on March 19, 2019 and other measures.

The Minister made a statement and, with Paul MacKinnon and John Ossowski, answered questions.

At 4:31 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:33 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Paul MacKinnon, Lori MacDonald, Louis Dumas, John Ossowski, André Baril and Jennifer Lutfallah answered questions.

At 5:29 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:39 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Christian Leuprecht, Nafiya Naso and Jean-Nicolas Beuze made statements and answered questions.

At 6:02 p.m., Jenny Kwan took the Chair.

At 6:08 p.m., Nick Whalen took the Chair.

At 6:34 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 6:38 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Justin Mohammed, Marilynn Rubayika and Lobat Sadrehashemi made statements and answered questions.

At 7:24 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 7:26 p.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

At 7:30 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Evelyn Lukyniuk
Clerk of the Committee