Skip to main content Start of content

CHPC Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 81
Monday, October 30, 2017, 3:29 p.m. to 5:41 p.m.
Hon. Hedy Fry, Chair (Liberal)

• David Anderson for Hon. Peter Van Loan (Conservative)
• Jenny Kwan for Pierre Nantel (NDP)
• Scott Reid for Martin Shields (Conservative)
• Mark Warawa for Robert Kitchen (Conservative)
Library of Parliament
• Gabrielle de Billy Brown, Analyst
• Erin Virgint, Analyst
American Islamic Forum for Democracy
• Zuhdi Jasser
Armenian National Committee of Canada
• Shahen Mirakian, President
Muslim Food Bank and Community Services Society
• Azim Dahya, Chief Executive Officer
• Muainudin Ahmed, Director
Trinity Western University
• Robert Kuhn, President
World Sikh Organization of Canada
• Balpreet Singh, Legal Counsel
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, April 4, 2017, the Committee resumed its study of systemic racism and religious discrimination.

Robert Kuhn, Shahen Mirakian, by videoconference from Toronto, Ontario, and Dr. Zuhdi Jasser, by videoconference from Phoenix, Arizona, made statements and answered questions.

At 4:31 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:35 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Muainudin Ahmed, Azim Dahya and Balpreet Singh, by videoconference from Mississauga, Ontario, made statements and answered questions.

At 5:41 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Michael MacPherson
Clerk of the Committee