Skip to main content Start of content

CHPC Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 76
Wednesday, October 4, 2017, 4:08 p.m. to 4:41 p.m.
Hon. Peter Van Loan, Vice-Chair (Conservative)

• Pam Damoff for Hon. Hedy Fry (Liberal)
• Jenny Kwan for Pierre Nantel (NDP)
• Scott Reid for Robert Kitchen (Conservative)
• Darrell Samson for Julie Dzerowicz (Liberal)
• David Sweet for Martin Shields (Conservative)
Library of Parliament
• Gabrielle de Billy Brown, Analyst
• Erin Virgint, Analyst
House of Commons
• Naaman Sugrue, Procedural Clerk
As an individual
• Anver Emon, Professor of Law & Canada Research Chair in Religion, Pluralism, and the Rule of Law, University of Toronto
• Jasmin Zine, Professor, Sociology and Muslim Studies Option, Wilfrid Laurier University
National Council of Canadian Muslims
• Ihsaan Gardee, Executive Director
• Eve Torres, Public Affairs Coordinator
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, April 4, 2017, the Committee resumed its study of systemic racism and religious discrimination.

Anver Emon, Jasmin Zine, Ihsaan Gardee and Eve Torres made statements and Anver Emon, Jasmin Zine and Ihsaan Gardee answered questions.

At 4:26 p.m., by unanimous consent and pursuant to Standing Order 115(5), it was agreed that the Committee continue to sit.

At 4:41 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Stephanie Feldman
Committee Clerk