Skip to main content Start of content

CHPC Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 72
Wednesday, September 20, 2017, 3:33 p.m. to 5:30 p.m.
Hon. Hedy Fry, Chair (Liberal)


• David Anderson for Martin Shields (Conservative)
• Jenny Kwan for Pierre Nantel (NDP)
• Scott Reid for Hon. Peter Van Loan (Conservative)
• Darrell Samson for Julie Dzerowicz (Liberal)
• Ramesh Sangha for Julie Dzerowicz (Liberal)
• David Sweet for Robert Kitchen (Conservative)
Library of Parliament
• Marion Ménard, Analyst
• Erin Virgint, Analyst
Ontario Human Rights Commission
• Shaheen Azmi, Director, Policy, Education, Monitoring and Outreach
• Renu Mandhane, Chief Commissioner
Government of Ontario
• Sam Erry, Associate Deputy Minister, Cabinet Office, Inclusion Diversity and Anti-Racism Division
• Akwatu Khenti, Assistant Deputy Minister, Cabinet Office, Inclusion Diversity and Anti-Racism Division
• Christopher Williams, Senior Research Advisor, Cabinet Office, Inclusion Diversity and Anti-Racism Division
Muslim Canadian Congress
• Tarek Fatah, Founder
The Northgate Group Corp.
• Michel Juneau-Katsuya, President and Chief Executive Officer
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, April 4, 2017, the Committee resumed its study of systemic racism and religious discrimination.

Tarek Fatah and Michel Juneau-Katsuya made statements and answered questions.

At 4:36 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:39 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Shaheen Azmi, Renu Mandhane, Sam Erry, Akwatu Khenti and Christopher Williams made statements and answered questions.

Pursuant to Standing Order 106(2), the Clerk of the Committee presided over the election of a Vice-Chair.

On motion of David Anderson, it was agreed, — That the Hon. Peter Van Loan be elected First Vice-Chair of the Committee.

At 5:30 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Michael MacPherson
Clerk of the Committee