Skip to main content Start of content

CHPC Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 28
Tuesday, October 4, 2016, 11:02 a.m. to 1:03 p.m.
Hon. Hedy Fry, Chair (Liberal)

•  Nancy Ruth, Senator
Library of Parliament
• Marion Ménard, Analyst
• Maxime-Olivier Thibodeau, Analyst
As individuals
• Diane Culver, Associate Professor, School of Human Kinetics, University of Ottawa
• Guylaine Demers, Professor, Department of Physical Education, Université Laval
• Gretchen Kerr, Professor, Vice-Dean, Faculty of Kinesiology and Physical Education, University of Toronto
• Penny Werthner, Professor, Dean, Faculty of Kinesiology, University of Calgary
Canadian Association for the Advancement of Women and Sport and Physical Activity
• Karin Lofstrom, Former Executive Director, Consultant, KL Sports Consulting
• Allison Sandmeyer-Graves, Chief Executive Officer
Égale Action
• Élaine Lauzon, Chief Executive Officer
Think Sport Ltd.
• Marion Lay, President
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, June 7, 2016, the Committee commenced its study of Canadian women and girls in sport.

Diane Culver, Guylaine Demers and Gretchen Kerr made statements and answered questions.

At 12:01 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:05 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Penny Werthner, by videoconference from Calgary, Alberta, Élaine Lauzon, by videoconference from Montréal, Quebec, Allison Sandmeyer-Graves and Marion Lay, by videoconference from Vancouver, British Columbia made statements and, with Karin Lofstrom, answered questions.

At 1:03 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Jean-François Lafleur
Clerk of the Committee