Skip to main content
Start of content

CHPC Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 25
Thursday, September 22, 2016, 11:06 a.m. to 1:06 p.m.
Hon. Hedy Fry, Chair (Liberal)

• John Barlow for Hon. Peter Van Loan (Conservative)
• Matt Jeneroux for Larry Maguire (Conservative)
Library of Parliament
• Marion Ménard, Analyst
• Maxime-Olivier Thibodeau, Analyst
Alberta Weekly Newspapers Association
• Duff Jamison, Chair, Government Relations Committee, Former President (AWNA)
• Dennis Merrell, Executive Director
Glacier Media Group
• Peter Kvarnstrom, President, Community Media
Canadian Association of Journalists
• Hugo Rodrigues, Past President
• Nick Taylor-Vaisey, President
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, February 16, 2016, the Committee resumed its study of the media and local communities.

On motion of Pierre Nantel, it was agreed, — That, after the opening statements of the witnesses, the Committee suspends its hearing for 10 minutes to meet with Paralympic Athletes back from the Rio Paralympic Games.

Duff Jamison, by videoconference from Edmonton, Alberta, made a statement and, with Dennis Merrell, by videoconference from Edmonton, Alberta, answered questions.

At 11:23 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 11:32 a.m., the sitting resumed.

Questioning of the witnesses resumed.

At 12:05 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:06 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Peter Kvarnstrom, Nick Taylor-Vaisey, by videoconference from Toronto, Ontario, and Hugo Rodrigues made statements and answered questions.

At 12:55 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:57 p.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

At 1:06 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Jean-François Lafleur
Clerk of the Committee