Skip to main content Start of content

CHPC Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 161
Thursday, May 30, 2019, 3:28 p.m. to 5:23 p.m.
Julie Dabrusin, Chair (Liberal)


• Mel Arnold for Hon. Steven Blaney (Conservative)
• Shaun Chen for Pierre Breton (Liberal)
• Earl Dreeshen for Martin Shields (Conservative)
• Cathay Wagantall for David Yurdiga (Conservative)
Library of Parliament
• Gabrielle de Billy Brown, Analyst
• Erin Virgint, Analyst
Friends of Canadian Broadcasting
• Daniel Bernhard, Executive Director
• Jim Thompson, Communications Advisor
Canadian Broadcasting Corporation
• Catherine Tait, President and Chief Executive Officer
• Barbara Williams, Executive Vice-President, CBC
• Michel Bissonnette, Executive Vice-President, Radio-Canada
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Thursday, April 11, 2019, the Committee commenced ts study of the mandate of CBC/Radio-Canada as it relates to the Broadcasting Act.

Catherine Tait, Barbara Williams and Michel Bissonnette made statements and answered questions.

At 4:29 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:34 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Daniel Bernhard and Jim Thompson made statements and answered questions.

At 5:23 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Graeme Truelove
Clerk of the Committee