Skip to main content
Start of content

CHPC Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 146
Tuesday, February 26, 2019, 3:30 p.m. to 5:36 p.m.
Julie Dabrusin, Chair (Liberal)

• Chandra Arya for Randy Boissonnault (Liberal)
• Cathy McLeod for Hon. Steven Blaney (Conservative)
• Dan Vandal for Anju Dhillon (Liberal)
Library of Parliament
• Gabrielle de Billy Brown, Analyst
• Laura Blackmore, Research Assistant
Amnesty International Canada
• Craig Benjamin, Campaigner, Indigenous Rights
National Association of Friendship Centres
• Jocelyn Formsma, Executive Director
• Christopher Sheppard, Board President
Nunavut Tunngavik Inc.
• Aluki Kotierk, President
• Kilikvak Kabloona, Chief Executive Officer
Gabriel Dumont Institute
• Karon Shmon, Director of Publishing, Culture and Heritage
As an individual
• Roger Jones, Special Advisor to the National Chief, Languages Act, Assembly of First Nations
Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Wednesday, February 20, 2019, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-91, An Act respecting Indigenous languages.

Roger Jones, Craig Benjamin, Aluki Kotierk and Kilikvak Kabloona made statements and answered questions.

At 4:33 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:40 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Karon Shmon, Jocelyn Formsma and Christopher Sheppard made statements and answered questions.

At 5:36 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Graeme Truelove
Clerk of the Committee