Skip to main content Start of content

CHPC Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 132
Thursday, November 22, 2018, 11:01 a.m. to 1:04 p.m.
Julie Dabrusin, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Gabrielle de Billy Brown, Analyst
• Erin Virgint, Analyst
Universities Canada
• Wendy Therrien, Director, External Relations and Research
• Allan Bell, Associate University Librarian, University of British Columbia
The Writers' Union of Canada
• John Degen, Executive Director
• Eric Enno Tamm, Chair
Association nationale des éditeurs de livres
• Arnaud Foulon, President
• Johanne Guay, Chair, Copyright Committee and Members' Rights
Canadian Publishers' Council
• David Swail, President
• Kevin Hanson, Vice-Chair, President of Simon & Schuster Canada
Canadian Copyright Institute
• William Harnum, Chair
Professional Writers Association of Canada
• Paul Verhaegh, Regional Director for the Prairies and the North
• Doreen Pendgracs, Vice-President
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Thursday, March 29, 2018, the Committee resumed its study of remuneration models for artists and creative industries.

Eric Enno Tamm, John Degen, Wendy Therrien, Allan Bell, David Swail and Kevin Hanson made statements and answered questions.

At 11:57 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:04 p.m., the sitting resumed.

William Harnum, by videoconference from Toronto, Ontario, Paul Verhaegh, by videoconference from Calgary, Alberta, Doreen Pendgracs, Arnaud Foulon and Johanne Guay made statements and answered questions.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

It was agreed, — That a proposed budget in the amount of $38,800.00, for the study of Bill C-369, An Act to amend the Bills of Exchange Act, the Interpretation Act and the Canada Labour Code (National Indigenous Peoples Day), be adopted.

At 1:04 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Graeme Truelove
Clerk of the Committee