Skip to main content Start of content

CHPC Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 114
Thursday, June 7, 2018, 8:48 a.m. to 10:29 a.m.
Julie Dabrusin, Chair (Liberal)

• Hon. Maxime Bernier for Jim Eglinski (Conservative)
• Alupa A. Clarke for Hon. Peter Van Loan (Conservative)
• Terry Duguid for Anju Dhillon (Liberal)
• Rémi Massé for Richard Hébert (Liberal)
• Ron McKinnon for Julie Dzerowicz (Liberal)
Library of Parliament
• Gabrielle de Billy Brown, Analyst
• Erin Virgint, Analyst
Songwriters Association of Canada
• Greg Johnston, President
• Damhnait Doyle, Vice-President, Board of Directors
Association québécoise de l'industrie du disque, du spectacle et de la vidéo (ADISQ)
• Solange Drouin, Vice-President of Public Affairs and Executive Director
Re:Sound Music Licensing Company
• Ian MacKay, President
• Annie Morin, General Manager
• Sophie Prégent, Vice-President
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Thursday, March 29, 2018, the Committee resumed its study of remuneration models for artists and creative industries.

Solange Drouin, Annie Morin, Sophie Prégent, Ian MacKay, Greg Johnston and Damhnait Doyle made statements and answered questions.

At 9:45 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:54 a.m., the sitting resumed.

• Hon. Mélanie Joly, Minister of Canadian Heritage
Department of Canadian Heritage
• Graham Flack, Deputy Minister
• Andrew Francis, Chief Financial Officer
• Guylaine Roy, Associate Deputy Minister
Pursuant to Standing Order 81(4), the Committee commenced consideration of the Main Estimates 2018-19: Vote 1 under Canada Council for the Arts, Votes 1, 5 and 10 under Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, Vote 1 under Canadian Museum for Human Rights, Vote 1 under Canadian Museum of History, Vote 1 under Canadian Museum of Immigration at Pier 21, Vote 1 under Canadian Museum of Nature, Vote 1 under Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission, Votes 1 and 5 under Department of Canadian Heritage, Votes 1 and 5 under Library and Archives of Canada, Vote 1 under National Arts Centre Corporation, Votes 1 and 5 under National Capital Commission, Vote 1 under National Film Board, Votes 1 and 5 under National Gallery of Canada, Vote 1 under National Museum of Science and Technology, Vote 1 under Telefilm Canada and Vote 1 under The National Battlefields Commission, referred to the Committee on Monday, April 16, 2018.

The Minister made a statement and, with Graham Flack, answered questions.

At 10:20 a.m., by unanimous consent and pursuant to Standing Order 115(5), it was agreed that the Committee continue to sit for an additional 7 minutes.

At 10:29 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Michael MacPherson
Clerk of the Committee