Skip to main content Start of content

CHPC Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 108
Tuesday, May 8, 2018, 8:48 a.m. to 10:09 a.m.
Julie Dabrusin, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Gabrielle de Billy Brown, Analyst
• Erin Virgint, Analyst
Canadian Arts Coalition
• Kate Cornell, Co-Chair
Museum of Contemporary Art Toronto Canada
• Julia Ouellette, Chair
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Wednesday, February 7, 2018, the Committee resumed its study of gender parity on the boards and senior leadership levels of Canadian artistic and cultural organizations.

Kate Cornell and Julia Ouellette made statements and answered questions.


Pierre Nantel moved, — That the Committee invite the Chair of the Board of Trustees of the National Gallery of Canada, Françoise Lyon, the director of the National Gallery, Marc Mayer, the Chairperson of the Canadian Cultural Property Export Review Board, Sharilyn J. Ingram, and the Department of Canadian Heritage, within 45 days, to explain decisions concerning Marc Chagall's La tour Eiffel and Jacques-Louis David's Saint Jerome Hears the Trumpet of the Last Judgment and to account to the Committee for these decisions' cost to the public.

Debate arose thereon.


Gordie Hogg moved, — That the debate be now adjourned.

The question was put on the motion and it was agreed to on the following recorded division:

YEAS: Anju Dhillon, Julie Dzerowicz, Colin Fraser, Richard Hébert, Gordie Hogg — 5;

NAYS: Jim Eglinski, Pierre Nantel, Martin Shields, Peter Van Loan — 4.

At 9:45 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:51 a.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

At 10:09 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Michael MacPherson
Clerk of the Committee