Skip to main content Start of content

CHPC Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 104
Tuesday, April 24, 2018, 8:48 a.m. to 10:44 a.m.
Hon. Peter Van Loan, Vice-Chair (Conservative)

Library of Parliament
• Gabrielle de Billy Brown, Analyst
• Erin Virgint, Analyst
Jasper Community Habitat for the Arts
• David Baker, Director
• Marianne Garrah, Director
Creative City Network of Canada
• Sarah Douglas-Murray, Vice-President
Quartier des Spectacles Partnership
• Pierre Fortin, Executive Director
• Jacques K. Primeau, Chair
International Centre of Art for Social Change
• Judith Marcuse, Founder and Co-Director
• Oliver Pauk, Co-Director
• Michael Vickers, Co-Director
New Dawn Enterprises
• Erika Shea, Vice-President, Development
Theatre Gargantua
• Michael Spence, Associate Artistic Director and Performer
• Jacquie Thomas, Artistic Director
Music Canada
• Amy Terrill, Executive Vice-President
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, April 11, 2017, the Committee resumed its study of Cultural Hubs and Cultural Districts in Canada.

Erika Shea, Michael Vickers, Oliver Pauk, Amy Terrill, Pierre Fortin and Jacques K. Primeau made statements and answered questions.

At 9:45 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:53 a.m., the sitting resumed.

Jacquie Thomas, Michael Spence, Judith Marcuse, by videoconference from Vancouver, British-Colombia, Sarah Douglas-Murray, Marianne Garrah and David Baker, by teleconference from Jasper, Alberta, made statements and answered questions.

At 10:44 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Michael MacPherson
Clerk of the Committee