Skip to main content Start of content

ACVA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 76
Thursday, February 15, 2018, 11:03 a.m. to 12:58 p.m.
Neil R. Ellis, Chair (Liberal)

House of Commons
• Christine Lafrance, Procedural Clerk
Library of Parliament
• Jean-Rodrigue Paré, Analyst
Department of Veterans Affairs
• Elizabeth Douglas, Director General, Service Delivery and Program Management
• Nathalie Pham, Acting Area Director, Montreal Office, Field Operations
• Mark Roy, Acting Director, Case Management and Support Services
Department of National Defence
• BGen Mark Misener, Commander, Joint Personnel Support Unit, Military Personnel Command
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Thursday, November 9, 2017, the Committee resumed its study of barriers to transition and measurable outcomes of successful transition.

Elizabeth Douglas and Mark Misener made statements.

A point of order was raised regarding the relevance of the preamble of the question of Phil McColeman.


The Chair ruled that the preamble of the question of Phil McColeman was outside the scope of the study.

Whereupon, Phil McColeman appealed the decision of the Chair.

The question: "Shall the decision of the Chair be sustained?" was put and the decision was sustained on the following recorded division:

YEAS: Bob Bratina, Doug Eyolfson, Colin Fraser, Emmanuella Lambropoulos, Darrell Samson — 5;

NAYS: François Choquette, Phil McColeman, Erin O'Toole, Cathay Wagantall — 4.

Elizabeth Douglas, Mark Misener, Nathalie Phamans and Mark Roy answered questions.

At 12:58 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Karine Parenteau
Clerk of the Committee