Skip to main content
Start of content

SECU Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 61
Thursday, March 26, 2015

The Standing Committee on Public Safety and National Security met in a televised session at 6:30 p.m. this day, in Room C-110, 1 Wellington Street, the Chair, Daryl Kramp, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Hon. Diane Ablonczy, Rosane Doré Lefebvre, Hon. Wayne Easter, Ted Falk, Randall Garrison, Roxanne James, Daryl Kramp, Rick Norlock and LaVar Payne.


Acting Members present: Niki Ashton for Jean Rousseau.


Other Members present: Elizabeth May.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Christine Morris, Analyst; Tanya Dupuis, Analyst.


Witnesses: B'nai Brith Canada: David Matas, Senior Legal Counsel; Marvin Kurz, National Legal Counsel. Canadian Police Association: Tom Stamatakis, President. As an individual: Jessie Housty. Center for Security Policy: Clare Lopez, Vice-President, Research and Analysis; Kyle Shideler, Director, Threat Information Office. Air Transport Association of Canada: John McKenna, President and Chief Executive Officer; Michael Skrobica, Senior Vice-President and Chief Financial Officer. As an individual: Matt Sheehy, Director (Canada), Jetana Security.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Monday, February 23, 2015, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-51, An Act to enact the Security of Canada Information Sharing Act and the Secure Air Travel Act, to amend the Criminal Code, the Canadian Security Intelligence Service Act and the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act and to make related and consequential amendments to other Acts.

Marvin Kurz, David Matas, Tom Stamatakis and Jessie Housty made statements and answered questions.


At 7:30 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 7:36 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Matt Sheehy, Clare Lopez and John McKenna made statements and, with Kyle Shideler and Michael Skrobica, answered questions.


At 8:34 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Leif-Erik Aune
Clerk of the Committee

2015/04/24 8:20 a.m.