Skip to main content
Start of content

PROC Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 61
Thursday, December 4, 2014

The Standing Committee on Procedure and House Affairs met in camera at 11:43 a.m. this day, in Room 237-C, Centre Block, the Chair, Joe Preston, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: David Christopherson, Kevin Lamoureux, Alexandrine Latendresse, Tom Lukiwski, Dave MacKenzie, Ted Opitz, Joe Preston, Scott Reid, Blake Richards and Craig Scott.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Andre Barnes, Analyst; Erin Virgint, Research Assistant.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

It was agreed, — That, pursuant to the Order of Reference of Thursday, November 27, 2014, and also pursuant to Standing Orders 108.(1)(a) and 108.(1)(b), a Subcommittee on a Code of Conduct for Members be established to: (a) examine policy options for addressing complaints of harassment between Members of the House of Commons; (b) make recommendations concerning a code of conduct for Members for the prevention and resolution of harassment in the workplace, including a clear definition of harassment; (c) make recommendations concerning a fair, impartial and confidential process, including options for the role of an independent third party, for resolving complaints made under the code; (d) make recommendations concerning training and education initiatives to ensure compliance with the code;

That the Subcommittee be composed of seven (7) members, of which four (4) shall be from the Government party, two (2) shall be from the Official Opposition, and one (1) shall be from the Liberal Party, to be named following the usual consultations with the Whips; that the Subcommittee be chaired by a member of the Government party and that the Member for Elgin-Middlesex-London be named Chair of the Subcommittee; and

That the Subcommittee be empowered to send for persons, papers and records, to receive evidence, to sit during a time when the Committee is not sitting in Ottawa, to sit when the Committee is sitting outside the Parliamentary Precinct and to sit during periods when the House stands adjourned.


It was agreed, — That it be reflected in the Minutes of Proceedings that the motion relating to the creation of the Subcommittee on a Code of Conduct for Members was adopted unanimously.


At 11:55 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Marie-France Renaud
Clerk of the Committee

2014/12/04 4:07 p.m.