Skip to main content
Start of content

PROC Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 30
Tuesday, April 8, 2014

The Standing Committee on Procedure and House Affairs met in a televised session at 6:59 p.m. this day, in Room C-110, 1 Wellington Street, the Chair, Joe Preston, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: David Christopherson, Alexandrine Latendresse, Tom Lukiwski, Ted Opitz, Joe Preston, Scott Reid, Blake Richards and Craig Scott.


Acting Members present: LaVar Payne for Brad Butt, Scott Simms for Kevin Lamoureux and David Sweet for Ted Opitz.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Andre Barnes, Analyst; Erin Virgint, Research Assistant.


Witnesses: As individuals: Sheila Fraser, Former Auditor General of Canada; Borys Wrzesnewskyj, Former Member of Parliament; Keith Lanthier. Competition Bureau: Richard Bilodeau, Assistant Deputy Commissioner, Civil Matters Branch; Ann Salvatore, Acting Assistant Deputy Commissioner, Criminal Matters Branch. Fédération des communautés francophones et acadienne du Canada: Marie-France Kenny, President. Manning Centre for Building Democracy: Hon. Preston Manning, President and Founder.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Monday, February 10, 2014, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-23, An Act to amend the Canada Elections Act and other Acts and to make consequential amendments to certain Acts.

Keith Lanthier, Richard Bilodeau and Marie-France Kenny made statements and, with Ann Salvatore, answered questions.


At 7:56 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 8:00 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Hon. Preston Manning, by videoconference from Calgary, Alberta, Sheila Fraser and Borys Wrzesnewskyj made statements and answered questions.


At 8:52 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Marie-France Renaud
Clerk of the Committee

2014/04/09 4:19 p.m.