Skip to main content Start of content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 48
Tuesday, October 28, 2014

The Standing Committee on Justice and Human Rights met at 3:31 p.m. this day, in Room 268, The Valour Building, the Vice-Chair, Françoise Boivin, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Françoise Boivin, Sean Casey, Bob Dechert, Robert Goguen, Ève Péclet, Kyle Seeback, Mike Wallace and David Wilks.


Acting Members present: Eve Adams for Mike Wallace, Hon. Carolyn Bennett for Sean Casey, Blaine Calkins for Patrick Brown and Philip Toone for Pierre Jacob.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Lyne Casavant, Analyst; Dominique Valiquet, Analyst.


Witnesses: Native Women's Association of Canada: Teresa Edwards, Director, International Affairs and Human Rights; Dawn Harvard, Vice-President. Association québécoise Plaidoyer-Victimes: Arlène Gaudreault, President. Kristen French Child Advocacy Centre Niagara: Janet Handy, Executive Director. Comité des Orphelins de Duplessis Victimes d'Abus: Lucien Landry, President; Tony Doussot, Representative. Walk With Me Canada Victim Services: Timea E. Nagy, Founder and Program Director. Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police: Jill Skinner, Deputy Chief of Police, Victims of Crime Committee; Paul Smith, Chief of Police, Victims of Crime Committee.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Friday, June 20, 2014, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-32, An Act to enact the Canadian Victims Bill of Rights and to amend certain Acts.

Arlène Gaudreault, Lucien Landry, Tony Doussot, Timea E. Nagy, Dawn Harvard, Paul Smith, Jill Skinner and Janet Handy made statements and, with Teresa Edwards, answered questions.


At 5:34 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jean-François Pagé
Clerk of the Committee

2014/10/29 9:46 a.m.