Skip to main content
Start of content

INDU Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 5
Wednesday, November 20, 2013

The Standing Committee on Industry, Science and Technology met at 3:30 p.m. this day, in Room 306, La Promenade Building, the Chair, David Sweet, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Chris Charlton, Cheryl Gallant, Ed Holder, Brian Jean, Hon. Mike Lake, Phil McColeman, Anne Minh-Thu Quach, Hon. Judy Sgro, David Sweet and Glenn Thibeault.


Acting Members present: Brian Masse for Kennedy Stewart and Hon. Rob Merrifield for Mark Warawa.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Mathieu Frigon, Analyst; Maxime-Olivier Thibodeau, Analyst.


Witnesses: Canadian Chamber of Commerce: Scott Smith, Director, Intellectual Property and Innovation Policy; Lorne M. Lipkus, Partner, Kestenberg Siegal Lipkus LLP, Canadian Intellectual Property Council. Canadian Generic Pharmaceutical Association: Jim Keon, President. Food and Consumer Products of Canada: Carla Ventin, Vice-President, Federal Government Affairs. Eaton Industries (Canada) Company: Vladimir V. Gagachev, Manager, Regulatory Affairs, Electrical Sector.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Monday, October 28, 2013 and the motion adopted on Monday, October 28, 2013, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-8, An Act to amend the Copyright Act and the Trade-marks Act and to make consequential amendments to other Acts.

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.


At 5:26 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Andrew Bartholomew Chaplin
Clerk of the Committee

2013/11/21 11:00 a.m.