Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 75
Tuesday, March 31, 2015

The Standing Committee on Finance met at 8:46 a.m. this day, in Room 228, The Valour Building, the Chair, James Rajotte, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Mark Adler, Joyce Bateman, Hon. Scott Brison, Hon. Ron Cannan, Raymond Côté, Nathan Cullen, Pierre Dionne Labelle, James Rajotte and Andrew Saxton.


Acting Members present: Colin Mayes for Dave Van Kesteren.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Mark Mahabir, Analyst.


Witnesses: Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada: Daniel Therrien, Privacy Commissioner of Canada. As individuals: Christine Duhaime, Lawyer, Duhaime Law; Paul Kennedy; Christian Leuprecht, Associate Dean and Associate Professor, Faculty of Arts, Royal Military College of Canada. Anti-Money Laundering Association: Amit Kumar, Senior Fellow. As an individual: Bill Tupman, Professor, BPP University / University of Exeter.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, February 24, 2015, the Committee resumed its study of Terrorist Financing in Canada and Abroad.

Daniel Therrien, Christine Duhaime, Paul Kennedy, Christian Leuprecht, Amit Kumar, by videoconference from Pasadena, Maryland, and Bill Tupman, by videoconference from Exeter, United Kingdom, made statements and answered questions.


It was agreed, — That the statements pronounced by Stéphane Bonin, Michael Peirce and Rick Stewart, at the beginning of the March 26, 2015 meeting which was held in camera, be considered public.


At 10:46 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Christine Lafrance
Clerk of the Committee

2015/04/02 2:01 p.m.