Skip to main content
Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 31
Thursday, May 1, 2014

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 3:30 p.m. this day, in Room 237-C, Centre Block, the Chair, James Rajotte, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Mike Allen, Hon. Scott Brison, Guy Caron, Nathan Cullen, Gerald Keddy, James Rajotte, Murray Rankin, Andrew Saxton and Dave Van Kesteren.


Acting Members present: Dean Allison for Mark Adler.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Michaël Lambert-Racine, Analyst; Mark Mahabir, Analyst.


Witnesses: Department of Finance: Ted Cook, Senior Legislative Chief, Tax Legislation Division, Tax Policy Branch; Miodrag Jovanovic, Director, Personal Income Tax; Pierre Mercille, Senior Legislative Chief, GST Legislation; Gervais Coulombe, Chief, Excise Policy, Sales Tax Division; Patrick Halley, Chief, Trade and Tariff Policy; David Tousignant, Senior Economist, Trade and Tariff Policy; Brian Ernewein, General Director, Tax Policy Branch; Kevin Shoom, Senior Chief, International Taxation and Special Projects; Dan Calof, Director, Financial Markets Division; Kevin Wright, Chief, Financial Markets Division; Ljiljana Petronic, Economist, Financial Markets Division; Soren Halverson, Senior Chief, Corporate Finance and Asset Management; Nicolas Marion, Chief, Capital Markets and International Affairs, Securities Policies Division; David Smith, Senior Project Leader, Capital Markets Policy; James Wu, Chief, Financial Institututions Analysis; Michèle Legault, Senior Project Leader, Financial Institutions Division; Sophie Amberg, Senior Economist, Financial Crimes - Domestic; Jennifer Sweeney, Senior Economist, Financial Crimes – Domestic; Michèle Govier, Chief, Trade Remedies and General Trade Relations; Wayne Foster, Director, Securities Policies. Department of Veterans Affairs: Bernard Butler, Director General, Policy Division, Policy, Communications and Commemoration Branch. Department of Health: Suzy McDonald, Director General, Workplace Hazardous Materials Directorate, Healthy Environments and Consumer Safety Branch; Jason Wood, Director, Policy and Program Development, Workplace Hazardous Materials Directorate, Healthy Environments and Consumer Safety Branch; John Morales, Legal Counsel, Legal Services Unit. Canada Revenue Agency: Brian McCauley, Assistant Commissioner, Legislative Policy and Regulatory Affairs Branch. Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development: Colin Bird, Director, Softwood Lumber Division. Department of Justice: Catherine McKinnon, Senior Counsel, Judicial Affairs, Courts and Tribunal Policy; Patrick Xavier, Counsel, Judicial Affairs, Courts and Tribunal Policy; France Pégeot, Special Advisor to the Deputy Minister. Treasury Board Secretariat: Drew Heavens, Senior Director, Labour Relations Operations; Don Graham, Executive Director, Compensation and Labour Relations Sector; Dennis Duggan, Senior Policy Analyst, Compensation and Labour Relations Sector; Laura MacLean, Analyst, Pension Policy and Stakeholder Relations; Bayla Kolk, Assistant Deputy Minister, Pensions and Benefits Sector; Rosalba L'Orfano, Senior Director, Pension Policy and Stakeholder Relations ; Dora Benbaruk, Director and General Counsel. Canada Border Services Agency: Tammy Branch, Director General. Department of Citizenship and Immigration: James McNamee, Chief, Health Effects and Assessments Division; Scott Turbett, Senior Policy Advisor, Economic Immigration Policy and Programs Division. Department of Employment and Social Development: Alexis Conrad, Director General, Temporary Foreign Worker Directorate. Bank of Canada: Robert Turnbull, Special Counsel, Financial Systems; Louise Hyland, Director, Funds Management and Banking. Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation: Mark Maltais, Director, Treasury and Investment Management.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Tuesday, April 8, 2014, the Committee commenced consideration of Bill C-31, An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on February 11, 2014 and other measures.

Ted Cook, Miodrag Jovanovic, Pierre Mercille, Gervais Coulombe, Patrick Halley, Brian Ernewein and Kevin Shoom answered questions.


At 5:32 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Christine Lafrance
Clerk of the Committee

2014/05/02 8:50 a.m.