Skip to main content
Start of content

CHPC Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 28
Tuesday, October 21, 2014

The Standing Committee on Canadian Heritage met at 3:30 p.m. this day, in Room 228, The Valour Building, the Chair, Gordon Brown, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Ray Boughen, Gordon Brown, Hon. Stéphane Dion, Rick Dykstra, Jim Hillyer, Irene Mathyssen, Pierre Nantel, Kennedy Stewart and John Weston.


Acting Members present: David Sweet for Ted Falk and David Yurdiga for John Weston.


Associate Members present: Terence Young.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Michael Dewing, Analyst; Marion Ménard, Analyst. House of Commons: Chloé O'Shaughnessy, Legislative Clerk; Justin Vaive, Legislative Clerk.


Witnesses: Hon. Don Meredith, Senator.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Wednesday, September 24, 2014, the Committee commenced consideration of Bill S-213, An Act respecting Lincoln Alexander Day.

The witness made a statement and answered questions.


On motion of David Sweet, it was agreed, — That biographical information on Lincoln Alexander be translated, distributed and kept as evidence by the Committee.


The Committee commenced its clause-by-clause study of the Bill.


Pursuant to Standing Order 75(1), consideration of the Preamble and Clause 1, Short Title, were postponed.

The Chair called Clause 2.


Clause 2 carried.


Clause 3 carried.


The Preamble carried.


Clause 1, Short Title, carried.


The Title carried.


The Bill carried on the following recorded division: YEAS: Ray Boughen, Stéphane Dion, Rick Dykstra, Jim Hillyer, Irene Mathyssen, Pierre Nantel, Kennedy Stewart, David Sweet, John Weston — 9; NAYS: — 0.


ORDERED, — That the Chair report the Bill to the House.


At 4:02 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jean-Marie David
Clerk of the Committee

2015/01/26 1:21 p.m.