Skip to main content

CHPC Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 23
Tuesday, May 13, 2014

The Standing Committee on Canadian Heritage met in a televised session at 10:59 a.m. this day, in Room C-110, 1 Wellington Street, the Chair, Gordon Brown, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Ray Boughen, Gordon Brown, Hon. Stéphane Dion, Rick Dykstra, Ted Falk, Jim Hillyer, Pierre Nantel and Kennedy Stewart.


Acting Members present: Anne-Marie Day for Irene Mathyssen and Earl Dreeshen for John Weston.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Michael Dewing, Analyst; Marion Ménard, Analyst. House of Commons: Christine Holke David, Procedural Clerk.


Witnesses: Foundation Assisting Canadian Talent on Recordings (FACTOR): Susan Wheeler, Chair; Duncan McKie, President; Allison Outhit, Vice-President, Operations. Fondation Musicaction: Pierre Rodrigue, Chairman of the Board of Directors; Louise Chenail, Chief Executive Officer. Fonds RadioStar: François Bissoondoyal, Chairman of the Board of Directors; Louise Chenail, Chief Executive Officer. Music Canada: Graham Henderson, President. Radio Starmaker Fund: Sylvie Courtemanche, Chair of the Board; Chip Sutherland, Executive Director; Alan Doyle, Member of the Board. Canadian Music Week: Neill Dixon, President.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Thursday, December 5, 2013, the Committee resumed its review of the Canadian music industry.

Susan Wheeler, Duncan McKie, Pierre Rodrigue and François Bissoondoyal made statements and answered questions.


At 11:59 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:04 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Graham Henderson, Sylvie Courtemanche, Chip Sutherland, Alan Doyle and Neill Dixon made statements and answered questions.


At 1:01 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Emma-Leigh Boucher
Clerk of the Committee

2014/05/14 4:53 p.m.