Skip to main content
Start of content

CHPC Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 15
Thursday, March 27, 2014

The Standing Committee on Canadian Heritage met at 11:02 a.m. this day, in Room 228 La Promenade Building, the Chair, Gordon Brown, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Ray Boughen, Gordon Brown, Hon. Stéphane Dion, Rick Dykstra, Ted Falk, François Lapointe, Irene Mathyssen, Pierre Nantel and John Weston.


Acting Members present: Jay Aspin for Jim Hillyer.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Marion Ménard, Analyst; Michael Dewing, Analyst.


Witnesses: Canadian Music Publishers Association: Elisabeth Bihl, Executive Director; Jodie Ferneyhough, President. Society of Composers, Authors and Music Publishers of Canada: Gilles Daigle, General Counsel and Head of Legal Services. Professional Music Publishers' Association: David Murphy, President. Library and Archives of Canada: Hervé Déry, Acting Librarian and Archivist of Canada, Office of the Librarian and Archivist of Canada; Cecilia Muir, Chief Operating Officer, Office of the Chief Operating Officer. Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission: Scott Hutton, Executive Director, Broadcasting; Annie Laflamme, Director, Radio Policy and Applications.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Thursday, December 5, 2013, the Committee resumed its review of the Canadian music industry.

Elisabeth Bihl, Jodie Ferneyhough, Gilles Daigle and David Murphy, by teleconference from Magog, Québec, made statements and answered questions.


At 11:56 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:00 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Hervé Déry and Scott Hutton made statements and, with Cecilia Muir and Annie Laflamme, answered questions.


Irene Mathyssen gave notice of the following motion:

That the Standing Committee on Canadian Heritage undertake a study of regional broadcasting under the Canada Media Fund and that the Committee report this study to the House.


The questioning of the witnesses resumed.


At 12:53 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:55 p.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

It was agreed, — That the proposed operational budget in the amount of $34,700.00, for the Committee's study of the review of the Canadian music industry, be adopted.


It was agreed, — That, notwithstanding the motion adopted on Thursday, December 5, 2013, the Committee devote seven (7) meetings to its review of the Canadian music industry.


At 1:05 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Emma-Leigh Boucher
Clerk of the Committee

2014/03/28 3:54 p.m.