Skip to main content
Start of content

SECU Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 82
Thursday, April 25, 2013

The Standing Committee on Public Safety and National Security met at 8:46 a.m. this day, in Room 306, La Promenade Building, the Chair, Kevin Sorenson, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Candice Bergen, Randall Garrison, Parm Gill, Hon. Laurie Hawn, Ryan Leef, Rick Norlock, LaVar Payne, John Rafferty, Jean Rousseau, Francis Scarpaleggia and Kevin Sorenson.


Acting Members present: Dan Albas for Candice Bergen, Joyce Bateman for Hon. Laurie Hawn and Élaine Michaud for Rosane Doré Lefebvre.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Christine Morris, Analyst; Tanya Dupuis, Analyst.


Witnesses: Police Sector Council: Geoff Gruson, Executive Director. Edmonton Police Service: Chief Rod Knecht, Chief of Police. START Program: Tammy Thompson, Program Coordinator. Government of Manitoba: Walter Tielman, Area Director, Department of Justice, Interlake Region, Community and Youth Correction. Government of Saskatchewan: Christine Tell, Minister, Corrections and Policing; Dale McFee, Deputy Minister, Corrections and Policing.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, May 29, 2012, the Committee resumed its study of the economics of policing.

Chief Knecht, by videoconference from Edmonton, Alberta, and Geoff Gruson made statements and answered questions.


It was agreed, — That the Committee travel to Western Canada and California between May 20 and May 25, 2013.


It was agreed, — That the Committee travel to the United Kingdom between May 25 and June 1, 2013.


Minister Tell, by teleconference from Regina, Saskatchewan, Tammy Thompson and Walter Tielman made statements and, with Dale McFee, by teleconference from Regina, Saskatchewan, answered questions.


At 10:47 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Andrew Bartholomew Chaplin
Clerk of the Committee

2013/05/03 3:13 p.m.