Skip to main content
Start of content

SECU Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 8
Thursday, October 20, 2011

The Standing Committee on Public Safety and National Security met in camera at 11:37 a.m. this day, in Room 8-53, 131 Queen Street, the Chair, Kevin Sorenson, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Jay Aspin, Sylvain Chicoine, Randall Garrison, Candice Hoeppner, Ryan Leef, Marie-Claude Morin, Rick Norlock, Brent Rathgeber, Jasbir Sandhu, Francis Scarpaleggia, Kevin Sorenson and Wai Young.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Tanya Dupuis, Analyst; Cynthia Kirkby, Analyst.


Witnesses: Canadian HIV/AIDS Legal Network: Sandra Ka Hon Chu, Senior Policy Analyst. Prisoners with HIV/AIDS Support Action Network: Seth Clarke, Community Development Coordinator. Correctional Service of Canada: Don Head, Commissioner; Christer McLauchlan, Security Intelligence Officer, Stony Mountain Institution.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

It was agreed, — That, notwithstanding the motion adopted Tuesday, September 27, 2011, in relation to its study into the issue of drugs and alcohol in prisons, the Committee allocate a maximum of 12 meetings to its enquiry.


At 11:48 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 11:49 a.m., the sitting resumed in public.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, September 27, 2011, the Committee resumed its study of drugs and alcohol in prisons.

Sandra Ka Hon Chu and Seth Clarke, by videoconference from Toronto, Ontario, made statements and answered questions.


At 12:34 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:34 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Don Head made a statement and, with Christer McLauchlan, answered questions.


At 1:04 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Andrew Bartholomew Chaplin
Clerk of the Committee

2011/10/26 11:31 a.m.