Skip to main content
Start of content

SECU Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 13
Tuesday, November 22, 2011

The Standing Committee on Public Safety and National Security met in a televised session at 10:59 a.m. this day, in Room C-110, 1 Wellington Street, the Chair, Kevin Sorenson, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Jay Aspin, Sylvain Chicoine, Randall Garrison, Candice Hoeppner, Ryan Leef, Rick Norlock, Brent Rathgeber, Jasbir Sandhu, Francis Scarpaleggia, Kevin Sorenson and Wai Young.


Acting Members present: Françoise Boivin for Marie-Claude Morin and Garry Breitkreuz for Brent Rathgeber.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Tanya Dupuis, Analyst; Cynthia Kirkby, Analyst.


Witnesses: Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada: Suzanne Legault, Information Commissioner. YWCA Canada: Ann Decter, Director, Advocacy and Public Policy; Lyda Fuller, Executive Director, YWCA Yellowknife. As an individual: Daniel McNeely. Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada: Jennifer Stoddart, Privacy Commissioner; Patricia Kosseim, General Counsel. Project Ploughshares: Kenneth Epps, Senior Program Officer. As individuals: Linda Thom; John Gayder, Constable.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Tuesday, November 1, 2011, and the motions adopted Tuesday, September 27, and Tuesday, November 1, 2011, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-19, An Act to amend the Criminal Code and the Firearms Act.

Suzanne Legault, Ann Decter, Lyda Fuller and Daniel McNeely made statements and answered questions.


At 11:55 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 11:58 a.m., the sitting resumed.


Jennifer Stoddart, Kenneth Epps, Linda Thom and John Gayder made statements and, with Patricia Kosseim, answered questions.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

Sylvain Chicoine moved, — That the Standing Committee for Public Safety and National Security shall convene for the duration of one meeting to invite Bob Paulson in order to discuss his appointment as the new Commissioner of the RCMP.

Debate arose thereon.


On motion of Candice Hoeppner, it was agreed, — That the motion be amended by replacing the word “appointment” with the word “role”.


After debate, the question was put on the motion, as amended, and it was agreed to.


The motion, as amended, read as follows:

That the Standing Committee for Public Safety and National Security shall convene for the duration of one meeting to invite Bob Paulson in order to discuss his role as the new Commissioner of the RCMP.


At 12:58 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Andrew Bartholomew Chaplin
Clerk of the Committee

2011/11/28 11:06 a.m.