Skip to main content
Start of content

SECU Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 10
Tuesday, November 1, 2011

The Standing Committee on Public Safety and National Security met at 11:01 a.m. this day, in Room 8-53, 131 Queen Street, the Chair, Kevin Sorenson, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Jay Aspin, Sylvain Chicoine, Randall Garrison, Candice Hoeppner, Ryan Leef, Marie-Claude Morin, Rick Norlock, Brent Rathgeber, Jasbir Sandhu, Francis Scarpaleggia, Kevin Sorenson and Wai Young.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Tanya Dupuis, Analyst; Cynthia Kirkby, Analyst.


Witnesses: As individuals: Kenneth Putnam; Tony Van De Mortel.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, September 27, 2011, the Committee resumed its study of drugs and alcohol in prisons.

Tony Van De Mortel and Kenneth Putnam made statements and answered questions.


At 12:55 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:55 p.m., the sitting resumed.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

Candice Hoeppner moved, — That, pursuant to the motion adopted Tuesday, September 27, 2011, giving priority to government bills, should Bill C-19, An Act to amend the Criminal Code and the Firearms Act, stand referred to the Committee, the Clerk shall make arrangements for an appearance by the Minister of Public Safety on Thursday, November 3, 2011.


The question was put on the motion and it was agreed to, by a show of hands: YEAS: 6; NAYS: 4.


At 1:05 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Andrew Bartholomew Chaplin
Clerk of the Committee

2011/11/01 2:39 p.m.