Skip to main content Start of content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 77
Monday, June 10, 2013

The Standing Committee on Justice and Human Rights met in a televised session at 3:47 p.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, Mike Wallace, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Dan Albas, Scott Armstrong, Blaine Calkins, Hon. Irwin Cotler, Robert Goguen, Pierre Jacob, Hoang Mai, Wayne Marston, Kyle Seeback, Mike Wallace and David Wilks.


Acting Members present: Hon. Laurie Hawn for Scott Armstrong and Isabelle Morin for Françoise Boivin.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Dominique Valiquet, Analyst.


Witnesses: As individuals: Stacy Galt; Dave Teixeira, President, Communications; Isabelle Malo; André Samson; Ben Bedarf; Susan Joy Bedarf. Mental Health Commission of Canada: Louise Bradley, President and Chief Executive Officer; Patrick Baillie, Member, Advisory Council. Barreau du Québec: Giuseppe Battista, Lawyer and President, Committee on Criminal Law; Lucie Joncas, Lawyer and Member. Centre for Addiction and Mental Health: Alexander Simpson, Chief of Forensic Psychiatry, Head, Division of Forensic Psychiatry, University of Toronto. Canadian Civil Liberties Association: Nathalie Des Rosiers, General Counsel; Michelle Thomarat, Trainee. Canadian Mental Health Association: Peter Coleridge, National Chief Executive Officer; Mark Ferdinand, National Director, Public Policy. Association of Families of Persons Assassinated or Disappeared: Michel Surprenant, President. Association des groupes d'intervention en défense de droits en santé mentale du Québec: Doris Provencher, General Director; Chloé Serradori, Analytical and Liaison Officer.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Tuesday, May 28, 2013, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-54, An Act to amend the Criminal Code and the National Defence Act (mental disorder).

Stacy Galt, Dave Teixeira, Louise Bradley, Patrick Baillie and Giuseppe Battista made statements and, with Lucie Joncas, answered questions.


At 4:53 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:23 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Nathalie Des Rosiers, Isabelle, Malo, André Samson, by teleconference from Victoriaville, Québec, made statements and answered questions.


At 6:15 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 6:19 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Ben Bedarf, Peter Coleridge, Michel Surprenant, Doris Provencher and Chloé Serradori made statements and, with Mark Ferdinand, answered questions.


At 7:00 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jean-François Pagé
Clerk of the Committee

2013/06/18 8:48 a.m.