Skip to main content
Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 43
Thursday, February 16, 2012

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 3:30 p.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, James Rajotte, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Mark Adler, Hon. Scott Brison, Robert Chisholm, Alain Giguère, Shelly Glover, Randy Hoback, Brian Jean, Hoang Mai, Cathy McLeod, James Rajotte and Dave Van Kesteren.


Acting Members present: Wayne Marston for Peter Julian and Brian Masse for Robert Chisholm.


Associate Members present: Mike Wallace.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Mark Mahabir, Analyst; Brett Stuckey, Analyst.


Appearing: Hon. Ted Menzies, Minister of State (Finance).


Witnesses: Department of Finance: Diane Lafleur, General Director, Financial Sector Policy Branch; Leah Anderson, Director, Financial Sector Division, Financial Sector Policy Branch; Lynn Hemmings, Senior Chief, Financial Sector Division; Yasir Syed, Senior Project Leader, Financial Sector Division. Department of Justice: Carol Taraschuk, Senior Counsel, Legal Services for the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions. Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions: John Grace, Specialist, Pension Policy.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Wednesday, February 1, 2012, the Committee commenced consideration of Bill C-25, An Act relating to pooled registered pension plans and making related amendments to other Acts.

The Minister made a statement and answered questions.


At 4:30 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:32 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Diane Lafleur, John Grace, Lynn Hemmings, Leah Anderson and Carol Taraschuk answered questions.


At 5:19 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Guyanne L. Desforges
Clerk of the Committee

2012/02/17 2:56 p.m.