Skip to main content
Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 3
Monday, June 20, 2011

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 10:00 a.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, James Rajotte, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Mark Adler, Alain Giguère, Shelly Glover, Randy Hoback, Brian Jean, Hoang Mai, Wayne Marston, Cathy McLeod, Peggy Nash, James Rajotte and Dave Van Kesteren.


Acting Members present: Rodger Cuzner for Hon. Scott Brison, Hon. John McCallum for Hon. Scott Brison and Massimo Pacetti for Hon. Scott Brison.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Mark Mahabir, Analyst; Brett Stuckey, Analyst.


Witnesses: C.D. Howe Institute: Finn Poschmann, Vice-President, Research. As an individual: Jane Londerville, Interim Chair and Associate Professor, College of Management and Economics, University of Guelph. Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation: Karen A. Kinsley, President. Genome Canada: Cindy Bell, Executive Vice-President, Corporate Development. Department of Finance: Sean Keenan, Senior Chief, Personal Income Tax Division, Tax Policy Branch; Tom McGirr, Chief, Equalization and Policy Development; Doug Nevison, Director, Fiscal Policy Division, Economic and Fiscal Policy Branch; Sonia Beaulieu, Law Branch, Tax Counsel Division; Jane Pearse, Director, Financial Institutions Division; Ling Wang, Executive Advisor, Financial Sector Policy Branch. Department of Human Resources and Skills Development: Nathalie Martel, Director, Old Age Security Policy. Department of Transport: Sylvain Lachance, Executive Director, Regulatory and Quality Assurance. Department of Justice: Rambod Behboodi, General Counsel, Director, Finance, General Legal Services. Department of Transport: Kevin Monahan, Project Manager, Regulatory Services and Quality Assurance.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Wednesday, June 15, 2011, the Committee commenced consideration of Bill C-3, An Act to implement certain provisions of the 2011 budget as updated on June 6, 2011.

Pursuant to Standing Order 75(1), consideration of Clause 1 was postponed.

The Chair called Clause 2.


Finn Poschmann, Jane Londerville, Karen A. Kinsley and Cindy Bell made statements and answered questions.


At 11:34 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 11:46 a.m., the sitting resumed.


Sean Keenan, Tom McGirr, Doug Nevison, Karen Kingsley, Sonia Beaulieu, Jane Pearse, Ling Wang, Nathalie Martel, Kevin Monahan, Sylvain Lachance and Rambod Behboodi answered questions.


The Committee commenced its clause-by-clause study of the Bill.


After debate, by unanimous consent, Clauses 2 to 8 inclusive were stood.


By unanimous consent, Clauses 9 to 12 inclusive carried severally.


By unanimous consent, Clauses 13 and 14 carried severally.


By unanimous consent, Clauses 15 and 16 carried severally.


Clause 17 carried.


By unanimous consent, Clauses 18 and 19 carried severally.


After debate, by unanimous consent, Clauses 20 to 26 inclusive carried on division.


By unanimous consent, Clauses 27 to 29 inclusive carried severally.


By unanimous consent, Clauses 30 and 31 carried severally.


By unanimous consent, Clauses 32 and 33 carried severally.


By unanimous consent, Clauses 34 to 36 inclusive carried severally.


By unanimous consent, Clauses 37 to 45 inclusive carried severally.


The Committee reverted to Clause 2 previously stood.


After debate, by unanimous consent, Clauses 2 to 8 inclusive carried severally.


The Short Title carried.


The Title carried.


The Bill carried.


ORDERED, — That the Chair report the Bill to the House.


At 12:54 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Guyanne L. Desforges
Clerk of the Committee

2011/11/07 9:37 a.m.