Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 15
Thursday, October 6, 2011

The Standing Committee on Finance met at 8:58 a.m. this day, in the Great Lakes Ballroom, Hilton Windsor Hotel, Windsor, Ontario, the Chair, James Rajotte, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Mark Adler, Hon. Scott Brison, Alain Giguère, Shelly Glover, Randy Hoback, Brian Jean, Hoang Mai, Wayne Marston, Cathy McLeod, James Rajotte and Dave Van Kesteren.


Acting Members present: Brian Masse for Peggy Nash.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Brett Stuckey, Analyst; Mark Mahabir, Analyst. House of Commons: Marlene Sandoval, Committee Clerk.


Witnesses: Canadian Natural Gas Vehicle Alliance: Alicia Milner, President. Spirits Canada / Association of Canadian Distillers: Jan Westcott, President and Chief Executive Officer. Association of Equipment Manufacturers: Howard Mains, Canadian Public Policy Advisor; Howard Sellick, President, Sellick Equipment Limited. Encana Corporation: Sam Shaw, Vice-President, Natural Gas Policy Development. Canadian Shipowners Association: Bruce Bowie, President. Canadian Solar Industries Association: Patrick Bateman, Policy and Research Advisor. Greater Kitchener Waterloo Chamber of Commerce: Art Sinclair, Vice-President. Sarnia Lambton Chamber of Commerce: Garry McDonald, President; Debra Taylor, Chair, Board of Directors. Canadian Urban Transit Association: Michael Roschlau, President and Chief Executive Officer; Penny Williams, Vice-Chair, Finance. European Aeronautic Defence and Space Company Inc.: Pierre Delestrade, President and Chief Executive Officer. Fair Pensions for All: William Tufts, Founder.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations 2011.

Alicia Milner, Jan Westcott, Howard Sellick, Sam Shaw, Bruce Bowie and Patrick Bateman made statements and, with Howard Mains, answered questions.


At 10:27 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:33 a.m., the sitting resumed.


Art Sinclair, Garry McDonald, Debra Taylor, Michael Roschlau, Penny Williams, Pierre Delestrade and William Tufts made statements and answered questions.


At 11:57 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Guyanne L. Desforges
Clerk of the Committee

2011/11/07 10:13 a.m.