Skip to main content Start of content

FAAE Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 86
Tuesday, June 11, 2013

The Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Development met at 11:04 a.m. this day, in Room 306, La Promenade Building, the Chair, Dean Allison, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Dean Allison, Lois Brown, Bob Dechert, Nina Grewal, Hélène Laverdière, Ève Péclet, Gary Ralph Schellenberger, Dave Van Kesteren and John Williamson.


Acting Members present: Hon. John McKay for Hon. Bob Rae, Jamie Nicholls for Paul Dewar and Jean Rousseau for Romeo Saganash.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Allison Goody, Analyst; Miguel Bernal-Castillero, Analyst.


Witnesses: Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade: Marcus Davies, Legal Officer, Criminal, Security and Diplomatic Law Division; Alan H. Kessel, Legal Adviser; Roland Legault, Acting Director, Criminal, Security and Diplomatic Law Division; Maria Mascaro, Legal Officer, Criminal, Security and Diplomatic Law Division.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Tuesday, June 4, 2013, the Committee commenced consideration of Bill S-14, An Act to amend the Corruption of Foreign Public Officials Act.

Pursuant to Standing Order 75(1), consideration of Clause 1, Short Title, is postponed.

The Chair calls Clause 2.


Alan H. Kessel made a statement and, with Marcus Davies and Roland Legault, answered questions.


At 11:54 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Miriam Burke
Clerk of the Committee

2013/06/12 10:06 a.m.