Skip to main content
Start of content

CIMM Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
1st Session, 41st Parliament   1re Session, 41e législature

Standing Committee on Citizenship and Immigration   Comité permanent de la citoyenneté et de l'immigration
Meeting No. 34 Séance no 34
Tuesday, May 1, 2012 Le mardi 1 mai 2012
8:45 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. 8 h 45 à 12 heures
Room C-110, 1 Wellington Street   Pièce C-110, 1, rue Wellington
(613-947-7776)   (613-947-7776)

Orders of the Day   Ordre du jour
Televised Télévisée
Bill C-31, An Act to amend the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act, the Balanced Refugee Reform Act, the Marine Transportation Security Act and the Department of Citizenship and Immigration Act Projet de loi C-31, Loi modifiant la Loi sur l'immigration et la protection des réfugiés, la Loi sur des mesures de réforme équitables concernant les réfugiés, la Loi sur la sûreté du transport maritime et la Loi sur le ministère de la Citoyenneté et de l'Immigration
Witnesses Témoins
8:45 a.m. to 9:45 a.m. 8 h 45 à 9 h 45
Panel I Groupe I
As an individual À titre personnel
Richard Kurland, Policy Analyst and Attorney Richard Kurland, analyste de la politique et avocat
Canadian Bar Association Association du Barreau canadien
Tamra L. Thomson, Director
Legislation and Law Reform
 Tamra L. Thomson, directrice
Législation et réforme du droit
Peter Edelmann, Member
National Immigration Law Section
 Peter Edelmann, membre
Section nationale du droit de l'immigration
9:50 a.m. to 10:50 a.m. 9 h 50 à 10 h 50
Panel II Groupe II
Canadian Taxpayers Federation Fédération canadienne des contribuables
Gregory Thomas, Federal Director Gregory Thomas, directeur fédéral
Derek Fildebrandt, National Research Director Derek Fildebrandt, directeur de recherche national
Canadian Centre for Victims of Torture Centre canadien pour victimes de torture
Ezat Mossallanejad, Policy Analyst and Researcher Ezat Mossallanejad, analyste des politiques et recherchiste
10:55 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. 10 h 55 à 12 heures
Panel III Groupe III
Barreau du Québec Barreau du Québec
Nicolas Plourde, President of the Bar Nicolas Plourde, bâtonnier du Québec
Mitchell Goldberg, Lawyer
Member of the Committee on Immigration and Citizenship
 Mitchell Goldberg, avocat
Membre du Comité en droit de l'immigration et de la citoyenneté
La greffière du Comité
Julie Lalande Prud'homme (613-995-8525)
Clerk of the Committee
2012-04-27 8:03 p.m.   2012-04-27 20 h 3