Skip to main content

TRAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 16
Tuesday, May 11, 2010

The Standing Committee on Transport, Infrastructure and Communities met at 9:04 a.m. this day, in Room 308, West Block, the Chair, Merv Tweed, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Dennis Bevington, Lois Brown, Sukh Dhaliwal, Roger Gaudet, Brian Jean, Mario Laframboise, Colin Mayes, Merv Tweed, Hon. Joseph Volpe and Jeff Watson.


Acting Members present: Paul Calandra for Blake Richards.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Jean Dupuis, Analyst.


Witnesses: Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada: Carman Baggaley, Strategic Policy Advisor; Chantal Bernier, Assistant Privacy Commissioner. Canadian Airports Council: Toby Lennox, Vice-President of Corporate Affairs and Communications, Greater Toronto Airports Authority; Howard Bohan, Vice-President of Operations and Customer Experience, Greater Toronto Airports Authority; Normand Boivin, Vice-President, Airport Operations, Aéroports de Montréal. Canadian Civil Liberties Association: Nathalie Des Rosiers, General Counsel.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on March, 25, 2010, the Committee resumed its study of Aviation Safety and Security.

Howard Bohan, Normand Boivin and Nathalie Des Rosiers made statements and, with Toby Lennox, answered questions.


At 10:00 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:05 a.m., the sitting resumed.


Chantal Bernier made a statement and answered questions.


At 10:58 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Bonnie Charron
Clerk of the Committee

2010/05/11 12:49 p.m.