Skip to main content
Start of content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 24
Tuesday, June 15, 2010

The Standing Committee on Justice and Human Rights met at 11:11 a.m. this day, in Room 371, West Block, the Chair, Ed Fast, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Joe Comartin, Bob Dechert, Ed Fast, Marc Lemay, Serge Ménard, Alexandra Mendes, Rick Norlock, Daniel Petit, Brent Rathgeber and Stephen Woodworth.


Acting Members present: Sukh Dhaliwal for Hon. Dominic LeBlanc, Yves Lessard for Marc Lemay, Jeff Watson for Daniel Petit and Lise Zarac for Brian Murphy.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Robin MacKay, Analyst; Lyne Casavant, Analyst. House of Commons: Joann Garbig, Procedural Clerk; Andrew Bartholomew Chaplin, Procedural Clerk.


Witnesses: John Howard Society of Ontario: Else Marie Knudsen, Policy Analyst; Paula Osmok, Executive Director. Canadian Association of Elizabeth Fry Societies: Kim Pate, Executive Director. Aboriginal Legal Services of Toronto: Jonathan Rudin, Program Director. Canadian Crime Victim Foundation: Joseph Wamback, Founder and Board Chair; Lozanne Wamback, Co-Founder and Director.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Monday, May 3, 2010, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-4, An Act to amend the Youth Criminal Justice Act and to make consequential and related amendments to other Acts.

Bob Dechert moved, — That, in light of the significant number of justice bills and other important business before this Committee and recognizing the substantial number of witnesses who have already appeared before this Committee concerning Bill C-4, the Justice Committtee proceed on the basis of the earlier agreement of its Members to sit for an additional half hour at each scheduled meeting in order to hear all previously scheduled witnesses and conclude the clause-by-clause review of Bill C-4 prior to the summer recess of Parliament.


After debate, the question was put on the motion and it was negatived, by a show of hands: YEAS: 5; NAYS: 6.


Joseph Wamback, Kim Pate, Paula Osmok Else Marie Knudsen and Jonathan Rudin made statements and answered questions.


At 12:30 p.m., Serge Ménard took the Chair.


At 12:35 p.m., the Chair took the Chair.


At 12:59 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Simon Larouche
Committee Clerk

2010/06/16 2:38 p.m.