Skip to main content
Start of content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 18
Tuesday, May 25, 2010

The Standing Committee on Justice and Human Rights met at 11:03 a.m. this day, in Room 209, West Block, the Chair, Ed Fast, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Joe Comartin, Bob Dechert, Ed Fast, Hon. Dominic LeBlanc, Serge Ménard, Alexandra Mendes, Brian Murphy, Rick Norlock, Daniel Petit, Brent Rathgeber and Stephen Woodworth.


Acting Members present: Yves Lessard for Marc Lemay.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Robin MacKay, Analyst; Lyne Casavant, Analyst. House of Commons: Simon Larouche, Committee Clerk.


Witnesses: Government of New Brunswick: Hon. Kelly Lamrock, Minister of Social Development and Attorney General; James Burns, Senior Policy Advisor, Policy and Planning Branch, Office of the Attorney General of New Brunswick. Department of Justice: Paula Kingston, Senior Counsel, Youth Justice, Strategic Initiatives and Law Reform; Catherine Latimer, General Counsel and Director General, Youth Justice, Strategic Initiatives and Law Reform. As individuals: Line Lacasse; Luc Lacasse.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Monday, May 3, 2010, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-4, An Act to amend the Youth Criminal Justice Act and to make consequential and related amendments to other Acts.

Catherine Latimer answered questions.


At 11:30 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 11:32 a.m., the sitting resumed.


Hon. Kelly Lamrock made a statement and answered questions.


At 12:30 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:35 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Line Lacasse made a statement and, with Luc Lacasse, answered questions.


It was agreed, — That for the consideration of Bill C-4, the Committee extend its sitting times to 1:30 p.m. instead of 1:00 p.m., as required.


It was agreed, — That for the consideration of Bill C-4, opening statements be limited to five (5) minutes per organization, at the discretion of the Chair.


At 12:59 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Miriam Burke
Clerk of the Committee

2010/05/27 4:18 p.m.