Skip to main content
Start of content

INDU Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 44
Tuesday, November 16, 2010

The Standing Committee on Industry, Science and Technology met at 11:01 a.m. this day, in Room 8-53, 131 Queen St., the Chair, David Sweet, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Robert Bouchard, Peter Braid, Gordon Brown, Serge Cardin, Marc Garneau, Mike Lake, Brian Masse, Hon. Dan McTeague, Anthony Rota, David Sweet, Dave Van Kesteren and Mike Wallace.


Acting Members present: John Rafferty for Brian Masse and Hon. Judy Sgro for Anthony Rota.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Dillan Theckedath, Analyst; Mathieu Frigon, Analyst; Adriane Yong, Analyst.


Witnesses: Phillips, Hager & North: Jim Cole, Vice-President, Fixed Income. Canadian Federation of Pensioners: Robert Hilton, President; Jack Walsh, Provincial Vice-President. Canadian Council of Chief Executives: Ross Laver, Vice-President, Policy and Communications. Informetrica Limited: Mike McCracken, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer. Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP: Douglas Rienzo, Partner, Pensions and Benefits. GENMO Salaried Pension Organization: Brian Rutherford, President. Nortel Retirees and former employees Protection Canada: Donald Sproule, President; Anne Clark-Stewart, Member. As an individual: Diane Urquhart, Independent Financial Analyst.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Wednesday, May 26, 2010, the Committee commenced consideration of Bill C-501, An Act to amend the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act and other Acts (pension protection).

John Rafferty made a statement.


Ross Laver, Diane Urquhart, Douglas Rienzo and Mike McCracken made statements and answered questions.


At 12:02 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:08 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Robert Hilton, Brian Rutherford, Jim Cole and Donald Sproule made statements and, with Anne Clark-Stewart, answered questions.


At 1:02 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Michelle Tittley
Clerk of the Committee

2010/11/18 10:29 a.m.