Skip to main content
Start of content

HUMA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 43
Thursday, February 10, 2011

The Standing Committee on Human Resources, Skills and Social Development and the Status of Persons with Disabilities met by videoconference at 11:04 a.m. this day, in Room 8-53, 131 Queen St., the Chair, Candice Hoeppner, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Josée Beaudin, Kelly Block, Hon. Rick Casson, Raymonde Folco, Candice Hoeppner, Ed Komarnicki, Yves Lessard, Tony Martin, Hon. Maria Minna, Michael John Savage, Maurice Vellacott and Jeff Watson.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: André Léonard, Analyst; Sandra Gruescu, Analyst.


Witnesses: As individuals: Robert Neil Kelly, Fly Past 60 Coalition; George Vilven, Fly Past 60 Coalition; Jonathan Kesselman, Professor, School of Public Policy, Simon Fraser University. Canadian Human Rights Commission: David Langtry, Acting Chief Commissioner; Philippe Dufresne, Director and Senior Counsel, Litigation Services Division. Federally Regulated Employers - Transportation and Communications (FETCO): John Farrell, Executive Director; Christopher Pigott, Legal Counsel, Heenan Blakie.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Monday, December 6, 2010, the Committee commenced consideration of Bill C-481, An Act to amend the Canadian Human Rights Act and the Canada Labour Code (mandatory retirement age).

Robert Neil Kelly, George Vilven and Jonathan Kesselman, by videoconference from Vancouver, British Columbia, made statements and answered questions.


At 11:59 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:05 p.m., the sitting resumed.


David Langtry and John Farrell made statements and, with Philippe Dufresne and Christopher Pigott, answered questions.


At 1:00 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Travis Ladouceur
Clerk of the Committee

2011/02/11 2:50 p.m.