Skip to main content

FOPO Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 1
Monday, March 8, 2010

The Standing Committee on Fisheries and Oceans met at 3:36 p.m. this day, in Room 269, West Block, for the purpose of electing a Chair, pursuant to Standing Order 106(1).


Members of the Committee present: Mike Allen, Scott Andrews, Raynald Blais, Blaine Calkins, Fin Donnelly, Randy Kamp, Yvon Lévesque, Hon. Lawrence MacAulay, Tilly O'Neill-Gordon and Rodney Weston.


Acting Members present: Rob Clarke for John Weston and Hon. Judy Sgro for Hon. Gerry Byrne.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: François Côté, Analyst; David Surprenant, Analyst. House of Commons: Jacques Maziade, Procedural Clerk.

The Clerk of the Committee presided over the election of a Chair.

On motion of Raynald Blais, it was agreed, — That Rodney Weston be elected Chair of the Committee.


The Clerk of the Committee presided over the election of the Vice-Chairs.


On motion of Yvon Lévesque, it was agreed, — That Lawrence MacAulay be elected First Vice-Chair of the Committee.


On motion of Blaine Calkins, it was agreed, — That Raynald Blais be elected Second Vice-Chair of the Committee.


Rodney Weston took the Chair.

By unanimous consent, the Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.


Pursuant to Order made by the House on Wednesday, March 3, 2010, the following routine motions in effect at the time of prorogation of the previous session are deemed to have been adopted by the Committee in the current session:

That the Committee retain, as needed and at the discretion of the Chair, the services of analysts from the Library of Parliament to assist it in its work.

That the Subcommittee on Agenda and Procedure be established and be composed of the Chair, the two Vice-Chairs, a member of the other opposition party and a member of the government party.

That the Chair be authorized to hold meetings to receive evidence and to have that evidence printed when a quorum is not present, provided that at least three (3) members are present including one government member and one opposition member.

That the Clerk of the Committee be authorized to distribute to the members of the Committee only documents that are available in both official languages.

That the Clerk of the Committee be authorized to make the necessary arrangements to provide working meals for the Committee and its Subcommittees.

That, if requested, reasonable travel, accommodation and living expenses be reimbursed to witnesses not exceeding two (2) representatives per organization; and that, in exceptional circumstances, payment for more representatives be made at the discretion of the Chair.

That, unless otherwise ordered, each Committee member be allowed to be accompanied by one staff person at an in camera meeting and in addition each party shall be permitted to have one party staff member attend in camera meetings.

That one copy of the transcript of each in camera meeting be kept in the Committee Clerk’s office for consultation by members of the Committee.

That forty-eight (48) hours’ notice be required for any substantive motion to be considered by the Committee, unless the substantive motion relates directly to business then under consideration; and that the notice of motion be filed with the Clerk of the Committee and distributed to members in both official languages.

That witnesses from an organization be given ten (10) minutes to make their opening statement; and that, at the discretion of the Chair, during the questioning of witnesses, there be allocated ten (10) minutes for the first questioner of the Liberal Party, seven (7) minutes for the first questioner of the Bloc Québécois, five (5) minutes to the questioner of the New Democratic Party and ten (10) minutes for the first questioner of the Conservative Party; and that if there is a subsequent round that the rotation be the same except all questioning be for five (5) minutes.


It was agreed, — That the Subcommittee on Agenda and Procedure meet on Wednesday, March 10, 2010, during the time slot in which the Committee normally meets to prepare a workplan for the Committee.


At 3:56 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Travis Ladouceur
Clerk of the Committee

2010/03/30 1:53 p.m.