Skip to main content Start of content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 32
Wednesday, June 17, 2009

The Standing Committee on Justice and Human Rights met in a televised session at 3:46 p.m. this day, in Room 237-C, Centre Block, the Chair, Ed Fast, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Joe Comartin, Hon. Ujjal Dosanjh, Ed Fast, Hon. Dominic LeBlanc, Marc Lemay, Réal Ménard, Rob Moore, Rick Norlock, Daniel Petit, Brent Rathgeber and Brian Storseth.


Acting Members present: Siobhan Coady for Brian Murphy and Jean-Claude JC D'Amours for Brian Murphy.


Other Members present: Yvon Godin.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Robin MacKay, Analyst; Cynthia Kirkby, Analyst.


Witnesses: As an individual: John Charles Major, Puisne Judge of the Supreme Court of Canada, Retired. Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages: Graham Fraser, Commissioner; Pascale Giguère, Acting Director and General Counsel, Legal Affairs Branch; Christine Ruest Norrena, Legal Counsel, Legal Affairs Branch.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Wednesday, May 27, 2009, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-232, An Act to amend the Supreme Court Act (understanding the official languages).

Judge Major made a statement and answered questions.


At 4:40 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:44 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Graham Fraser made a statement and, with Pascale Giguère and Christine Ruest Norrena, answered questions.


At 5:33 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Miriam Burke
Clerk of the Committee

2009/11/25 3:22 p.m.