Skip to main content Start of content

INDU Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 28
Tuesday, June 16, 2009

The Standing Committee on Industry, Science and Technology met jointly with the Standing Committee on Finance in a televised session at 10:08 a.m. this day, in Room 237-C, Centre Block, Hon. Michael D.Chong, Chair of the Standing Committee on Industry, Science and Technology and James Rajotte, Chair of the Standing Committee on Finance, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Robert Bouchard, Gord Brown, Hon. Michael D. Chong, Siobhan Coady, Marc Garneau, Mike Lake, Brian Masse, Anthony Rota, Dave Van Kesteren, Robert Vincent, Mike Wallace and Chris Warkentin.


Acting Members present: Glenn Thibeault for Brian Masse.


Members of the Standing Committee on Finance present: Hon. Maxime Bernier, Robert Carrier, Bob Dechert, Jean-Yves Laforest, Hon. John McCallum, Hon. John McKay, Ted Menzies, Massimo Pacetti and James Rajotte.


Acting Members present: Hon. Dan McTeague for Massimo Pacetti.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Philippe Bergevin, Analyst; Mark Mahabir, Analyst.


Witnesses: Interac Association: Mark O'Connell, President and Chief Executive Officer.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Thursday, March 5, 2009, the Committee resumed its study of credit card interchange fees and the debit payment system in Canada.

Mark O'Connell made a statement and answered questions.


At 12:02 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Michelle Tittley
Clerk of the Committee

2009/06/17 12:21 p.m.