Skip to main content
Start of content

INDU Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 29
Tuesday, June 16, 2009

The Standing Committee on Industry, Science and Technology met at 3:30 p.m. this day, in Room 308, West Block, the Chair, Hon. Michael D.Chong, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Robert Bouchard, Gord Brown, Hon. Michael D. Chong, Siobhan Coady, Marc Garneau, Mike Lake, Brian Masse, Anthony Rota, Dave Van Kesteren, Robert Vincent, Mike Wallace and Chris Warkentin.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Alysia Davies, Analyst; Dan Shaw, Analyst.


Witnesses: Canadian Chamber of Commerce: Susanna Cluff-Clyburne, Director, Parliamentary Affairs; Barry Sookman, Partner, McCarthy Tétrault LLP. Information Technology Association of Canada: Bernard A. Courtois, President and Chief Executive Officer. Canadian Marketing Association: Barbara Robins, Vice-President; Wally Hill, Vice President, Public Affairs and Communications. As an individual: Suzanne L. Morin.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Friday, May 8, 2009, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-27, An Act to promote the efficiency and adaptability of the Canadian economy by regulating certain activities that discourage reliance on electronic means of carrying out commercial activities, and to amend the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Act, the Competition Act, the Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act and the Telecommunications Act.

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.


At 5:20 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:23 p.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

At 5:34 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Michelle Tittley
Clerk of the Committee

2009/06/19 1:20 p.m.