Skip to main content
Start of content

HESA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 22
Thursday, May 28, 2009

The Standing Committee on Health met at 3:30 p.m. this day, in Room 209, West Block, the Chair, Joy Smith, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Colin Carrie, Patricia Davidson, Nicolas Dufour, Kirsty Duncan, Luc Malo, Cathy McLeod, Joyce Murray, Joy Smith, Tim Uppal and Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


Acting Members present: Paul Calandra for Patrick Brown and Hon. Dan McTeague for Joyce Murray.


Associate Members present: Carol Hughes.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Sonya Norris, Analyst; Karin Phillips, Analyst; Marlisa Tiedemann, Analyst.


Witnesses: Brain Injury Association of Canada: Richard Kinar, Board Member, Preventable Injuries and Health Safety; Harry Zarins, Executive Director. Canadian Association of Fire Chiefs: Kim Ayotte, Deputy Chief, Ottawa Region. Canadian Association of Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists: Ondina Love, Executive Director; Chantal Kealey, Director of Audiology and Supportive Personnel. Canadian Consumer Specialty Products Association: Shannon Coombs, President. McGill University: Joe Schwarcz, Director, Office for Science and Society. Canadian Health Food Association: Joel Taller, Legal Counsel. Canadian Toy Association: Arthur Kazianis, Technical Committee Co-Chair; Jeff Hurst, Chair of the Board. Consumers Council of Canada: Lucienne Lemire, Chair, Health and Food Safety Committee; Gail Campbell, Director. Option consommateurs: Anu Bose, Head, Ottawa Office; Geneviève Reed, Head, Research and Representation Department. Professional Institute of the Public Service of Canada: Don Burns, Vice-President; Tawfik Said, Research Officer, Compensation and Policy Analyst.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Thursday, April 30, 2009, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-6, An Act respecting the safety of consumer products.

Richard Kinar, Kim Ayotte, Ondina Love and Shannon Coombs made opening statements and, with Chantal Kealey, answered questions.


At 5:18 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:29 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Joel Taller, Jeff Hurst, Lucienne Lemire, Gail Campbell, Geneviève Reed, Anu Bose and Don Burns made opening statements and, with Arthur Kazianis and Tawfik Said, answered questions.


At 7:21 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 7:23 p.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

At 7:37 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Georges Etoka
Clerk of the Committee

2009/05/29 3:10 p.m.