Skip to main content
Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 6
Monday, February 23, 2009

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 10:04 a.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, James Rajotte, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Hon. Maxime Bernier, Robert Carrier, Bob Dechert, Jean-Yves Laforest, Hon. John McCallum, Hon. John McKay, Ted Menzies, Thomas J. Mulcair, Massimo Pacetti, James Rajotte and Mike Wallace.


Acting Members present: Ron Cannan for Daryl Kramp, Dean Del Mastro for Daryl Kramp, Martha Hall Findlay for Hon. John McCallum and Greg Rickford for Daryl Kramp.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Philippe Bergevin, Analyst; Mark Mahabir, Analyst. House of Commons: Catherine Millar, Committee Clerk.


Witnesses: Public Service Alliance of Canada: John Gordon, National President; Andrée Côté, Women's and Human Rights Officer, Membership Programs Branch. Assembly of First Nations of Quebec and Labrador: Lucien Wabanonik, Grand Chief of the Anishnabeg Nation; Gilbert W. Whiteduck, Chief, Kitigan Zibi Anishinabeg. Fédération des femmes du Québec: Michèle Asselin, President. Front d'action populaire en réaménagement urbain: François Roy, Representative. Professional Institute of the Public Service of Canada: Geoffrey Grenville-Wood, General Counsel, National Office, Legal Department; Isabelle Roy, Legal Counsel, National Office. Canadian Real Estate Association: Pierre Beauchamp, Chief Executive Officer; Allison McLure, Associate Legal Counsel, Legal Department. Canadian Trucking Alliance: David Bradley, Chief Executive Officer. Confédération des syndicats nationaux: Pierre Patry, Treasurer; François Bélanger, Union Advisor. Quebec Forest Industry Council: Guy Chevrette, President and Chief Executive Officer; Michel Vincent, Director, Economics Markets and International Trade Branch. Fédération étudiante universitaire du Québec: David Paradis, President. Canadian Federation of Students: Ian Boyko, Government Relations Coordinator. Association of Universities and Colleges of Canada: Claire M. Morris, President and Chief Executive Officer; André Dulude, Vice-President, National Affairs.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Thursday, February 12, 2009, the Committee commenced consideration of Bill C-10, An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on January 27, 2009 and related fiscal measures.

John Gordon, Lucien Wabanonik, Michèle Asselin, François Roy, Geoffrey Grenville-Wood and Pierre Beauchamp made statements and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.


At 11:30 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 11:35 a.m., the sitting resumed.


David Bradley, Pierre Patry, Guy Chevrette, David Paradis, Ian Boyko and Claire M. Morris made statements and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.


At 12:57 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 1:03 p.m., the sitting resumed.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

Thomas J. Mulcair moved, — That the Standing Committee on Finance report to the House that an order be adopted to separate part 11 of Bill C-10 as a separate bill.


After debate, the question was put on the motion and it was negatived, by a show of hands: YEAS: 3; NAYS: 4.


It was agreed, — That the Standing Committee on Finance adopt an operational budget of $ 20,900 for its study of Bill C-10, An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on January 27, 2009 and related fiscal measures.


At 1:12 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jean-François Pagé
Clerk of the Committee

2010/01/05 10:59 a.m.