Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 48
Wednesday, October 7, 2009

The Standing Committee on Finance met at 9:00 a.m. this day, in the room A/B, Hôtel Pur, Québec, Québec, the Chair, James Rajotte, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Kelly Block, Bob Dechert, Jean-Yves Laforest, Thomas J. Mulcair, Massimo Pacetti, James Rajotte and Mike Wallace.


Acting Members present: Nicolas Dufour for Jean-Yves Laforest and Christiane Gagnon for Robert Carrier.


Other Members present: Pascal-Pierre Paillé.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Mark Mahabir, Analyst; John Bulmer, Analyst.


Witnesses: Mouvement pour les arts et les lettres: Bastien Gilbert, Chief Executive Officer, Regroupement des centres d'artistes autogérés du Québec. Confédération des syndicats nationaux: Pierre Patry, Treasurer; François Bélanger, Economist. Merck Frosst Canada Inc.: Christian Blouin, Director, Public Health and Government Relations, Vaccine Division. McGill University: Vaughan Dowie, Executive Head of Public Affairs; Victoria Meikle, Senior Policy Advisor, Office of the Principal and Vice-Chancellor. Réseau Solidarité Itinérance du Québec: Marie-Claude Vézina, President, Director of La Chaudronnée de l'Estrie; Louise Fortin, Member, Director of Squat Basse-Ville and Member of Réseau d'aide aux itinérants et itinérantes de Québec. Conseil québécois du commerce de détail: Gaston Lafleur, President and Chief Executive Officer; Monique Bilodeau, Vice-President, Finance and Commodity Taxation, Canadian Council of Grocery Distributors (Québec Section). Shipping Federation of Canada: Michael Broad, President; Ivan Lantz, Director, Marine Operations. As an individual: Jean Lecours. Fédération des producteurs de porcs du Québec: Bernard Verret, Executive Director. Fédération étudiante universitaire du Québec: Jean Grégoire, President; Lysiane Boucher, Coordinator, Federal and International Affairs. Quebec Port Authority: Ross Gaudreault, President and Executive Director; Marcel Labrecque, Executive Vice-President.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations 2009.

Bastien Gilbert, Pierre Patry, Christian Blouin, Vaughan Dowie, Victoria Meikle, Marie-Claude Vézina, Gaston Lafleur and Monique Bilodeau, made statements and, with François Bélanger and Louise Fortin, answered questions.


At 10:34 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:41 a.m., the sitting resumed.


Michael Broad, Ivan Lantz, Jean Lecours, Bernard Verret, Jean Grégoire and Ross Gaudreault made statements and, with Marcel Labrecque and Lysiane Boucher, answered questions.


At 11:57 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jean-François Pagé
Clerk of the Committee

2010/01/05 11:05 a.m.