Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 43
Monday, September 28, 2009

The Standing Committee on Finance met at 8:00 a.m. this day, in the Plaza Ballroom, Hyatt Regency Vancouver, Vancouver, British Columbia, James Rajotte, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Bob Dechert, Daryl Kramp, Jean-Yves Laforest, Hon. John McCallum, Massimo Pacetti and James Rajotte.


Acting Members present: Peter Julian for Thomas J. Mulcair.


Associate Members present: Kelly Block and Ron Cannan.


Other Members present: Don Davies.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Chief Analyst; Mark Mahabir, Analyst. House of Commons: Travis Ladouceur, Committee Clerk.


Witnesses: Corporation of Delta: Lois E. Jackson, Mayor. First Call: B.C. Child and Youth Advocacy Coalition: Adrienne Montani, Provincial Co-ordinator; Julie Norton, Provincial Chair. Ladner Sediment Group: Chris Scurr, Spokesperson; John Roscoe, Chairperson. Rental Owners and Managers Society of British Columbia: Al Kemp, Chief Executive Officer. Public Service Alliance of Canada: Kay Sinclair, Regional Executive Vice-President, British Columbia. Village of Tahsis: Corrine Dahling, Mayor; Jude Schooner, Municipal Councillor. Sport Matters Group: Ian Bird, Senior Leader. Prince Rupert Port Authority: Don Krusel, President and Chief Executive Officer. TRIUMF: Nigel Lockyer, Director; Tim Meyer, Head, Strategic Planning and Communications. Port Metro Vancouver: Robin Silvester, President and Chief Executive Officer. As an individual: William Otway. Surrey Board of Trade: Eric Wilson, Chair, Taxation and Finance Team. Belinda Stronach Foundation: Farah Mohamed, President, External, Non-Profit. Vancouver Island University: Ralph Nilson, President and Vice-Chancellor; John Phillips, Chair, Board of Governors. Canadian Federation of Students (British Columbia): Shamus Reid, Chairperson; Ian Boyko, Research and Communications Officer. Association for Mineral Exploration British Columbia: Gavin Dirom, President and Chief Executive Officer; Byng Giraud, Senior Director, Policy and Communications. As an individual: Graham Mowatt. Downtown Surrey Business Improvement Association: Elizabeth Model, Executive Director; Bonnie Burnside, Manager, Communications and Special Events. Child Care Advocacy Association of Canada: Susan Harney, Representative. Federation of Community Action Programs for Children of British Columbia Association: Susan Khazaie, Director. Rick Hansen Foundation: Colin D. Ewart, Director, Government Leaders; Daryl M. Rock, Chairman of the Board of Directors, Spinal Cord Injury Solutions Network. Human Early Learning Partnership: Paul Kershaw, Professor, University of British Columbia. Pacific Community Resources Society: Ian Mass, Executive Director; John Coward, Manager, Employment Programs. Certified General Accountants Association of Canada: Bob Harvey, Chair, Tax and Fiscal Advisory Group. Recreation Vehicle Dealers Association of Canada: Shane Devenish, Representative; Gord Bragg, Representative. Union of Environment Workers: Nicholas Humphreys, Representative. Coalition for Canadian Astronomy: Guy Nelson, Co-Chair, Industry; Paul Hickson, Co-Chair, Canadian Astronomical Society. Heritage Vancouver Society: Janet Leduc, Executive Director. Association of Canadian Publishers: Rodger Touchie, President. Coalition of Child Care Advocates of British Columbia: Crystal Janes, Representative; Sharon Gregson, Spokesperson.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations 2009.

Lois E. Jackson, Adrienne Montani, Julie Norton, Chris Scurr, Al Kemp, Kay Sinclair, Corrine Dahling and Ian Bird made statements and, with John Roscoe and Jude Schooner, answered questions.


At 9:29 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:36 a.m., the sitting resumed.


Don Krusel, Nigel Lockyer, Tim Meyer, Robin Silvester, William Otway, Eric Wilson, Farah Mohamed, Ralph Nilson and John Phillips made statements and answered questions.


At 11:03 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:37 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Shamus Reid, Ian Boyko, Gavin Dirom, Byng Giraud, Graham Mowatt, Elizabeth Model, Susan Harney, Susan Khazaie, Daryl M. Rock and Paul Kershaw made statements and, with Bonnie Burnside and Colin D. Ewart, answered questions.


At 2:06 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 2:10 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Ian Mass, John Coward, Bob Harvey, Shane Devenish, Nicholas Humphreys, Guy Nelson, Janet Leduc, Crystal Janes and Sharon Gregson made a statement statements and, with Gord Bragg, Paul Hickson and Rodger Touchie, answered questions.


At 3:31 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jean-François Pagé
Clerk of the Committee

2010/01/05 11:01 a.m.