Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 26
Thursday, May 7, 2009

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 9:02 a.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, James Rajotte, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Hon. Maxime Bernier, Robert Carrier, Daryl Kramp, Hon. John McKay, Ted Menzies, Thomas J. Mulcair, Massimo Pacetti and James Rajotte.


Acting Members present: Dean Del Mastro for Mike Wallace, Martha Hall Findlay for Hon. John McCallum, Yves Lessard for Jean-Yves Laforest and Tilly O'Neill-Gordon for Bob Dechert.


Other Members present: Wayne Marston.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Philippe Bergevin, Analyst; Mark Mahabir, Analyst.


Witnesses: Canadian Labour Congress: Ken Georgetti, President; Joel Harden, Senior Researcher. Common Front for Retirement Security : Dan Braniff, Founder and Spokesperson, Canadian Branch; Bernard Dussault, Senior Research and Communications Officer, National Association of Federal Retirees. As an individual: Erik Andersen, Economist. Confédération des syndicats nationaux: Claudette Carbonneau, President; Nathalie Joncas, Employee Benefits Advisor, Labour Relations Services. Air Canada Component of the Canadian Union of Public Employees: Katherine Thompson, President.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Thursday, February 5, 2009, the Committee resumed its study on measures to enhance credit availability and the stability of the Canadian financial system.

Ken Georgetti, Dan Braniff, Erik Andersen, Claudette Carbonneau and Katherine Thompson made statements and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.


At 11:00 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jean-François Pagé
Clerk of the Committee

2009/05/08 2:57 p.m.